Book review: Love, Jacaranda by Alex Flinn

(I received an eARC from Edelweiss for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

45306290.jpg

 

Love, Jacaranda by Alex Flinn 

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary

Rating: 2/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

The story is told in Jacaranda’s POV and emails. I did find that the being told via emails made the story fast paced, which is something I love in stories, but it didn’t help me emotionally connect to Jacaranda’s character. I wasn’t really invested in the story and was speed reading.

I loved the idea and concept of the story but wasn’t a fan of the execution. I did find it predictable but it was probably just not my cup of tea. If you’re a fan of fast paced romantic contemporaries, definitely give this book a go!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link

Book review: Set fire to the gods (Set fire to the gods #1) by Sara Raasch & Kristen Simmons

(I received an eARC from Edelweiss for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

41954467._SY475_.jpg

 

Set fire to the gods (Set fire to the gods #1) by Sara Raasch & Kristen Simmons

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 3/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

The book is told in alternate POVs between Madoc and Ash, but I did find it slow paced. The world building reminded me of the one from Avatar: The last airbender. I liked the conflict and setting of this book with the gladiator battles.

Unfortunately, by 46% I was speed reading. I liked the story and concept but found it really slow paced and it didn’t grip me. I did not connect to the characters though I loved the characters’ motivations.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link

Book review: Take a hint, Dani Brown (The Brown sisters #2) by Tani Hibbert

(I received an eARC from Edelweiss for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

49976087

 

Take a hint, Dani Brown (The Brown sisters #2) by Tani Hibbert 

Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Rating: 4/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

I roughly remember enjoying the first book in the series so I’m excited for this book as well. It is tol in alternate POVs between Zaf and Danika. And I have to say that this book definitely lived up to my expectations!

It had me swooning so hard and I was really entertained. I love that it addresses mental health and illnesses plus relationships. I haven’t had my heart ache so long while reading a book but this definitely tugged at my heart. Overall, I really enjoyed this book that toyed with fake dating but talked about the importance of communication and vulnerability in relationships. A definite recommendation to all fans of Adult Romance books!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link

Book review: Seasons of the storm (Seasons of the storm #1) by Elle Cosimano

(I received an eARC from Edelweiss for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

52039902._SX318_SY475_

Seasons of the storm (Seasons of the storm #1) by Elle Cosimano

Genre: YA, Romance, Fantasy

Rating: 2/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

I love the concept of this book and it was told in alternate POVs between Jack and Fleur. At 28%, I ended up speed reading. I really did like the idea of the concept, but the execution for me wasn’t done well.

The story and characters unfortunately didn’t hold me attention enough and I was sad as this was one of my anticipated reads

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link

Blog Tour + Book review: The Good for nothings by Danielle Banas

The Good for Nothings
Danielle Banas
(Rogue Ethereal #6)
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: August 4th 2020
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

They’re only good at being bad.

Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she’s a total disaster.

After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He’ll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family’s good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize.

But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they’re also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it’s definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

 

Author Bio:

Danielle Banas is the author of THE SUPERVILLAIN AND ME and THE GOOD FOR NOTHINGS. She earned a degree in communication from Robert Morris University, where she spent slightly too much time daydreaming about new characters instead of paying attention in class. When she isn’t writing, Danielle can be found loudly singing show tunes, spouting off Disney World trivia, and snuggling with her puppy. She lives in her hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter

 

 

 

(I received an eARC from Xpresso Book Tours and NetGalley for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

The Good for nothings by Danielle Banas 

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, Romance

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

I loved the author’s other book, The supervillain and me, so I was eagerly awaiting this book!

I found it fast paced and loved the conflict, it gave me Guardians of the Galaxy vibes which I enjoyed. It was action packed and thrilling, keeping me on the edge of my seat throughout the book. It also reminded me of Cinder and Sanctuary, which I both loved.

There is an interesting cast of characters and the story is motivationally driven with a lot of mistrust. I did not connect to the characters, but really enjoyed the story with a tinge of romance. All fans of sci-fi books with heists and tons of adventures should check this book out!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Thank you to Xpresso Tours for the opportunity!