Book review: Dream things true by Marie Marquardt (3 stars)

34964925.jpg

Dream things true by Marie Marquardt

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Rating: 3/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

Evan and Alma have lived in the same town, but their lives intersect when Evan jumps into Alma’s dad’s truck and slams on the brakes. Evan is the nephew of a senator with a dysfunctional family while Alma is constantly surrounded by her large Mexican family. Both of them want out of this town, one by soccer and the other, academic success. When the two fall in love, problems arise when the Immigrant and Customs Enforcement begin raiding the town, how will Alma be able to explain to her boyfriend that almost all the people she knows are undocumented immigrants?

I did find this book pretty insta-lovey. The pacing was pretty quick and told in a dual POV, which brought the story to its maximum potential of being heartbreaking.

This book reminds me of Something in between by Melissa de la cruz.

Of course this story is definitely important and had a great message, but personally for me, I couldn’t connect to the characters and found the story pretty cliched and predictable.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Twitter  | Instagram | Goodreads  | Book Depository Affiliate Link| Ko-fi

Book review: The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow #1) by Margaret Owen (3 stars)

(I received a free Review Copy for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own)

36483378._SX318_.jpg

 

The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow #1) by Margaret Owen

Genre: YA, fantasy, romance

Rating: 3/5 stars

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

I heard a ton of hype for this book and was curious to see what the hype was about.

Unfortunately, I didn’t like it as much as I know I should have.

The world building took me a while to grasp, but I did feel that it needed more reinforcement. Honestly, the book didn’t keep my attention. The slow burn romance was a nice touch, but I didn’t feel the romance at all (please don’t kill me).

It wasn’t a bad book, it was just that I personally didn’t enjoy it as much as I should have. I didn’t connect to the characters or the story. But I did like the LGBT+ inclusive characters. One is gay and another is pansexual.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Twitter  | Instagram | Goodreads  | Book Depository Affiliate Link| Ko-fi

Book review: Spin the dawn (The blood of stars #1) by Elizabeth Lim (4 stars)

(I received a free eARC for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own)

36683928.jpg

Spin the dawn (The blood of stars #1) by Elizabeth Lim

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 4/5 stars

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

I’ve been so excited and anticipating this book, usually books that have been hyped up like this fall flat for me, but this wasn’t the case with Spin the dawn.

I loved the high stakes and the trials in this book. We barely interact with Lady Sarnai, but I already know I will like her and hope that she will appear more somewhere down the line.

The book had high stakes, a fast pace and amusing characters with very strong personal character motivations. By half of the book, I knew this book was going to be one of my favourites for 2019.

I personally felt that it was more like a mash up between Aladdin and Mulan instead.

This book definitely didn’t disappoint me and the story was beautifully woven to create a fabric masterpiece. I can’t wait for the next book.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Twitter  | Instagram | Goodreads  | Book Depository Affiliate Link| Ko-fi

Anime Review: Iroduku: the world in colours (4 stars)

Anime Review: Iroduku: the world in colours (4 stars)

“Giving your bonds a good whacking will make them stronger.”

251290545221155.jpg
Genre: Drama, Magic, romance

Number of episodes: 13 (Completed)

Rating: 4 stars

(Review)

Hitomi is a descendant of a witch family but she lost her sense of colour at a young age. Feeling sorry for her granddaughter, Kohaku sends Hitomi back in time.

The lighting was very vibrant.

There is a freaking love square omg. Would lean this anime more to the shoujo side.  I think it was quite well paced.

It was so emotional! Really enjoyed the dramatic and conflicting story with great messages.

Have you watched this anime before? Let me know some of your favourite anime in the comments down below!

Twitter  | Instagram | Goodreads  | Book Depository Affiliate Link Ko-fi

Book review: Lucky Penny by Ananth Hirsh & Yuko Ota (3.5 stars)

27131667.jpg

Lucky Penny by Ananth Hirsh & Yuko Ota

Genre: YA, Graphic Novel, Romance

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

Penny lost her job and apartment all in the same day, she ends up crashing in her friend’s storage unit and getting a new job at the local laundromat run by a 12 year old.

I liked the humour and the illustration style for this graphic novel. I love that Penny is very optimistic and can wriggle her way out of any problem despite being really unlucky.

This graphic novel was fun, entertaining and really easy to read.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂

Twitter  | Instagram | Goodreads  | Book Depository Affiliate Link| Ko-fi