Blog Tour + Book review: The Good for nothings by Danielle Banas

The Good for Nothings
Danielle Banas
(Rogue Ethereal #6)
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: August 4th 2020
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

They’re only good at being bad.

Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she’s a total disaster.

After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He’ll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family’s good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize.

But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they’re also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it’s definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

 

Author Bio:

Danielle Banas is the author of THE SUPERVILLAIN AND ME and THE GOOD FOR NOTHINGS. She earned a degree in communication from Robert Morris University, where she spent slightly too much time daydreaming about new characters instead of paying attention in class. When she isn’t writing, Danielle can be found loudly singing show tunes, spouting off Disney World trivia, and snuggling with her puppy. She lives in her hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter

 

 

 

(I received an eARC from Xpresso Book Tours and NetGalley for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

The Good for nothings by Danielle Banas 

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, Romance

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

I loved the author’s other book, The supervillain and me, so I was eagerly awaiting this book!

I found it fast paced and loved the conflict, it gave me Guardians of the Galaxy vibes which I enjoyed. It was action packed and thrilling, keeping me on the edge of my seat throughout the book. It also reminded me of Cinder and Sanctuary, which I both loved.

There is an interesting cast of characters and the story is motivationally driven with a lot of mistrust. I did not connect to the characters, but really enjoyed the story with a tinge of romance. All fans of sci-fi books with heists and tons of adventures should check this book out!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Thank you to Xpresso Tours for the opportunity!

‘Voltron: Legendary Defender’ Review

Unlike a lot of my other reviews where I usually start off with the series’s genre, number of episodes/seasons before rambling on about the rest of the review, I wanted to start this one off a different way.

I binged-watched Voltron: Legendary defender in the matter of less than a week, and I must say, I have fallen head over heels with this cartoon. I never watched the original one (it wasn’t a thing in my country), but I was glad that there was a remake, because if not I would never have watched this cartoon.

I mainly like cartoons that are pretty romance-centric like Miraculous Ladybug, Star vs the forces of evil, Tangled: the series and etc… But Voltron: Legendary Defender didn’t actually have much of that and it wasn’t romance-centric at all. I fell in love with the characters and the plot of this cartoon and even after a few days, heck, for the rest of my life, I don’t think I’ll ever forget this cartoon, that was how inspirational and how in love I was with it.

So even before I start the review, I’m just going to ask fans of sci-fi and adventure genres and those who like friendship-centric shows to definitely give this series a go!

It ripped my heart out and sew it back, and before I knew it, it ripped my heart out again, tossed it into a black hole before my heart worm-holed back to me. So, I was practically and basically a mess of tears.

*May contain some spoilers, but I’m trying my best to review all seasons without any spoilers. So there may be mention of names and revelations but not in detail, of course.

81zNOEW7SmL.jpg Continue reading

Quick book reviews

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

Sorcery of thorns by Margaret Rogerson (2 stars)

This book reminded me of The Archives by Victoria Schwab and I heard a lot of hype about this book. Unfortunately, by 50%, I was bored and found this book slow paced although I liked the concept. I heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book and sped read through the rest of the books and unfortunately did not connect to the characters.

Something real (Something real #1) by Heather Demetrios (4 stars)

I love the unique concept, finding this hilarious and relatable as I found Chloe and Patrick so cute together. This book really shows what a toxic environment does to a person, it is emotional and heartbreaking. I loved the romance and there was never a dull moment with all the drama, I really enjoyed this book.

Five wakes and a wedding by Karen Ross (2 stars)

I did feel that it was pretty slow paced as nothing much was happening because Nina isn’t getting any business. I loved the concept, but unfortunately did not connect to the characters, story or romance. I really wanted to like this book but unfortunately I didn’t. There are no explicit sex scenes in this book.

Love at first like by Hannah Orenstein (3 stars)

I did find this book a little slow paced and found it predictable. I found it okay but did not connect to the characters or story although I liked the concept and understood the characters’s motivations.

The last thing you said by Sara Biren (3 stars)

This book is a heart-wrenching story about loss and moving on and grief. It is told in alternate POVs and I did like the conflict. I didn’t connect with the characters.

Have you read these books?  What are your thoughts and opinions?

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link

Quick book reviews

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

My blood approves (My blood approves #1) by Amanda Hocking (3 stars)

This book gave me a bit of Twilight vibes and I found it a little predictable. I wasn’t a fan of the insta-love and the love triangle. I did like the conflict and story but found it a little problematic. I liked the concept and even though it wasn’t my cup of tea, was curious to see how the story would turn out.

Cold day in the sun by Sara Biren (4 stars)

I liked the character dynamics, fast paced story with the slow burn romance. I really liked the romantic tension and conflict and the addressing of misogyny. It was heartbreaking and romantic, I picked this book up on a whim because of the cover, I was glad that I enjoyed this book.

Blood laws (Immortal curse #1) by Lexi C. Foss (3.5 stars)

I definitely got Shadowshunter vibes but was initially confused about the world building (which took time to build), the sexual tension was strong though I think the emotional romance needed a little more time. I did find it a little slow paced for my taste and struggled to get into the book but when I got into it, I really enjoyed it.

Hope and other punchlines by Julie Buxbaum (4 stars)

The story is told in alternate POVs between Abbi and Noah. Jack (Noah’s friend) and Noah’s interactions were so funny and cute to read about. This book is a heartbreaking and emotional story about hope. The ending of the book left me in tears and my heart is broken, I didn’t expect to like this book as I picked it up on a whim, but was definitely pleasantly surprised.

Worthy by Donna Cooner (3 stars)

This book was fast paced and addresses how society works and how detrimental social media can be. It was a quick read for me with great messages and I found it okay.

Have you read these books?  What are your thoughts and opinions?

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link

Book review: All our hidden gifts by Caroline O’Donoghue

(I received an ARC from #pansing @definitelybooks for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

All our hidden gifts by Caroline O’Donoghue

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 4/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

This book is available at all good bookstores.

I love the tarot and dabbled it in when I was younger!

I’m usually not a fan of supernatural witchy stories, but this one definitely stole my attention! Despite Maeve’s flaws, I still rooted for her and Roe is such a darling character that made the story richer. My heart broke at the hate crimes mentioned in this book.

I was very pleasantly surprised by this book and wanted to read more. The writing, characters and story were captivating and I would definitely recommend this as a read if you love thriller stories with witchy and supernatural vibes.

The review is up on my blog as well!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link 

Book review: Poisoned by Jennifer Donnelly

(I received an ARC from #pansing @definitelybooks for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

Poisoned by Jennifer Donnelly

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Retelling

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

This book is available at all good bookstores.

I adored Stepsister so much and am excited for this book! I really liked the ‘voice’ of this book.

I like this take on Snow white, it was easy to root for a kind character amidst the cruel others. There was a lot happening, but I did like the pace and this retelling of a familiar fairy tale.

Did take a while to get through this book, but I love the messages it contained like being brave and kind. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a big fan of the romance.

The review is up on my blog as well!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link 

Book review: Thorn (Dauntless path #1) by Intisar Khanani

(I received a review copy from #pansing @definitelybooks for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

Thorn (Dauntless path #1) by Intisar Khanani

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Retelling

Rating: 4/5 stars

(Review)

(DISCLAIMER: All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

This book is available at all good bookstores.

I actually read this book once even before I received a review copy and honestly, I wasn’t a big fan and I remembered it was because of the pacing of the book but I enjoyed everything else especially the concept, retelling and the mysteriousness of the story. I loved the strong conflict as well but ended up speed reading because of the pace.

So when I received a review copy, I was hesitant, but decided to give it a go, but decided to take my time with the book instead of rushing it. I definitely found it easy to symphatise with Alyrra and root for her, this time round, I was definitely more invested in the story.

I was glad that I gave this book another go as I loved it and wanted to see more of Alyrra, Kestrin and the Red Hawk. It was action packed and engaging, keeping me hooked. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of action, high fantasy with strong romantic elements!

The review is up on my blog as well!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions?

Goodreads | Bookdepository affiliate link